‘Reflection One’

Standard

Over the first week of my Journalism course my view of the journalism industry has changed as I have now realise that almost anything can be Journalism. some of the new platforms that I am now aware of that can be used as a practice of researching and producing content about events, news, issues and trends is;

  • Online Videos
  • Podcasting
  • eBooks

I have also found that the topics of journalism such as;

  • news
  • politics
  • Movies
  • sport
  • Fashion
  • Travel
  • Food
  • Music
  • Technology

can be used to specify to ‘niche audiences’such as;

  • Obscure Sports
  • Niche Fashion
  • Solo Travel
  • Food & Politics
  • Alternative Music

This has sparked my interest and would now like to focus my first stages of my blogging on this

My favourite parts if the first week of study learning the first basic steps in learning to encompass a wide range a practices which together share an overriding concern with public communication of contemporary affairs and the discussion of those affairs. Also learning about the history of journalism and how ‘news’ is now so easily accessible to the public. An important skill to have when writing and reporting is knowing how to grab the attention of your reader. In the first week I have learned how to do this, and within the first 20 words of writing and know what the writer wants to here to do this successfully.

In the next 10 weeks I am most looking forward to creating more blogs and websites to publish some of the ideas I have on different topics. I am also interested in learning more about how technology has changed journalism over the years and how newspapers have had to adhere to public demand and trends. Thing I am most looking forward to is getting more involved in the broadcasting side of journalism such as radio and television and adapting the main skills I need to be able to report, present and publish this information.

Leave a Reply

